skip to main content
The County of DuPage
Wheaton, Illinois

Bikeways and Trails


Trail Closures

Detours & Closures

Illinois Prairie Path - Aurora Branch - Frontenac Road to the CN / EJ&E railroad

This segment of the Prairie Path is closed do to changed traffic patterns on the CN / EJ&E Railroad. The railroad is currently parking trains at the existing at-grade railroad crossing necessitating the re-routing of the Prairie Path. The Prairie Path has been re-routed to Diehl Road while the County develops plans to construct an underpass.   View Detour Map


This segment of the North Central DuPage Regional Trail (NCDRT) is currently closed due to deterioration of the boardwalk.  The Village of Bloomingdale, who maintains this section, is currently seeking to award a contract to design and construct a new bridge.  The reopening date is to be determined.

Trail Closure Alerts

Information concerning trail closures, trail detours, and maintenance activities will be posted on this page as it becomes available.  Trail closures that are listed on this page will also be shown within the DuPage Trails app, noted by an orange "I" symbol with additional information that displays when clicked.  Trail closure alerts are updated daily.

Submit a Trail Maintenance Request

If you observe any downed branches or trail obstructions, report them in one of the following ways:

  • Report the issue using DuPage County's Citizen Reporter App.  Use the app to provide a location, maintenance request type, and description of the issue.  Any reported trail issues are immediately sent to the appropriate agency.  The app is both desktop and mobile-friendly.
  • Email the Trails Coordinator at  The Trails Coordinator is available by email Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM.