skip to main content
The County of DuPage
Wheaton, Illinois
 

Obtaining a Civil Union License

When to Apply:

A civil union license is issued immediately and becomes effective 24 hours later. The license is valid 60 days. A license issued in DuPage County CANNOT be used in any other County and State.

How to Apply:

Start your civil union application online.

Upon completing the application, both partners MUST then appear at the DuPage County Clerk's office (421 N. County Farm Road, Wheaton, IL 60187) and present proof of age and proper identification and a license fee of $35.00.

The fee of $35.00 can be paid in cash, check or by credit card for a $1.00 fee.

Required ID:

Identification and proof of age are required of all persons. Any of the following documents will be accepted:

  • A valid U.S. driver's license.
  • A valid U.S. state identification card.
  • A valid U.S. passport.
  • A valid U.S. military identification card.

If you do not have any of the above forms of identification, then you must present TWO (2) of the following pieces of identification:

  • A certified copy of a birth certificate.
  • A baptismal record (the date of birth of the applicant must appear on this record).
  • A valid foreign passport.
  • U.S. naturalization papers.
  • A valid U.S. resident alien card.
  • A life insurance policy, which has been in effect for one (1) year (the applicant's date of birth must appear on the document).
  • All consulate identification cards. Affidavits are not acceptable.

Qualifications:

Both partners must be 18 years of age in order to obtain a license.

Individuals who reside outside of the State of Illinois will be required to sign an affidavit that the state they reside in does not prohibit a civil union.

Previous Marriage or Civil Union:

We must know how a previous marriage or civil union ended, including the month, date and year, county and state in which it ended. If a prior marriage or civil union has ended within six (6) months, you must provide a certified copy (a photocopy is not sufficient) of the death record, dissolution or annulment decree.

Persons Prohibited from Civil Unions:

Anyone under the age of 18 years of age.

Anyone whose previous marriage or civil union is not dissolved.

An ancestor and a descendent or between siblings whether the relationship is by the half or the whole blood or by adoption; an aunt or uncle and a niece or nephew, whether the relationship is by the half or the whole blood, or by adoption; or between first cousins.

A person who resides and intends to continue to reside in another state where that person is prohibited from entering into a civil union or substantially similar legal relationship by the laws of the jurisdiction where he or she resides.

Online Marriage Application

Start your marriage application online!

DuPage County Marriage Application