skip to main content
The County of DuPage
Wheaton, Illinois

Commissioners & Executive Staff

Cathy Terrill - Chairperson


Phone:  630-407-5697

Cathy brings to the Election Commission a well-deserved reputation for service to her community, leadership and making organizations better. The Daily Herald recently described her as the person “who gets the tough jobs” turning around agencies.

The Elmhurst resident is best known in the disabilities field, where she has carved out a pioneering statewide, national and even international record the past 35 years.

She currently is CEO of the Institute on Public Policy for People with Disabilities, a past director of the Ray Graham Association and the Illinois Planning Council on Developmental Disabilities. She has a Masters Degree in Disability Policy and currently is Adjunct professor at the University of Illinois and Elmhurst College. She helped write and pass crucial state legislation to help those with disabilities. She has used her expertise internationally, once developing a strategic plan for Saudi Arabia for senior and disability services.

Throughout her career and more so recently after her 2010 retirement as CEO of the Ray Graham Association, Cathy has lent her organizational skills to numerous organizations, including those in the public arena.

DuPage County Board Chairman Dan Cronin tabbed her to turn around the troubled DuPage County Housing Agency in March 2010 and in her eight months as interim director she spurred numerous needed reforms, according to a new independent county audit. Cronin appointed her as an Election Commissioner on April 25 and she was subsequently voted Chairman of the commission’s board.

Terrill’s wide-ranging resume of public and community service includes past and present high-ranking board or other high-ranking affiliations with the President’s Committee on Mental Retardation, American Association on Mental Retardation, Governor’s Conference on Housing, National Council on Quality and Leadership, Brain Injury Association of America, Illinois Department of Public Aid, Illinois Department of Commerce and Community Affairs and Elmhurst League of Women Voters. She also is a published author of numerous articles and publications in the Human Services arena.  

James S. Lowe - Vice Chair


Phone:  630-407-5699 

 Jamie brings to the Election Commission a wealth of experience in both local and township government.  As DuPage County Board Chairman Dan Cronin expressed, “I am confident that Jamie’s skills and abilities will prove to be a valuable asset to the commission.”

As the former Vice President of the Lisle-Woodridge Fire Protection District, Jamie received the Fire Chief's “Shield for Service” award and the “2015 Woodridge Outstanding Commissioner of the Year” award.  He also served on the board of the Northern Illinois Alliance of Fire Protection Districts and the Executive Committee of the DuPage Public Safety Communications Agency, also known as DU-COMM.

Jamie is the former Chairman of the Lisle Township Republican Organization and a former member of the DuPage County Republican Central Committee.  

He is a graduate of DePaul University and has been an Illinois Licensed Real Estate Managing Broker since 1980.  Jamie practices as an independent Realtor in the Chicago area.

Jamie is an avid sailor and competed in 40 Chicago-to-Mackinac Island races.  He has been a crew member on numerous winning yachts over the years and was “First in Section” in the 2015 race.  He is a member of the board and a former Commodore of the Island Goats Sailing Society.

Jamie has been living with his wife and family in Woodridge since 1996. 

John J. Boske - Secretary


Phone:  630-407-5698

John brings a long and deserved reputation as one of Illinois' top labor leaders to the Election Commission.  John served five years as president of the DuPage County Building Trades Council.  He also spent seven years as the president and business manager of Sheet Metal Workers Local 265 in Carol Stream.  Appointed by former Governor Pat Quinn, John also served on the Elgin-O'Hare Western Access Advisory Committee from 2010 and 2012.  

Suzanne Fahnestock - Executive Director


Phone:  630-407-5614

Suzanne was appointed Executive Director for the DuPage County Election Commission by the Election Commission Board members in 2018.