skip to main content
The County of DuPage
Wheaton, Illinois

Press Release

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Special Assistance in Voter Registration Available

Joseph H. Sobecki, Interim Executive Director of the DuPage County Election Commission, announced today that special assistance in voter registration is available to the elderly and handicapped through the Commission's office. The Commission can assist in the arrangement of "In-Home" registration appointments with deputy registrars for the upcoming election.  In addition, arrangements can be made to become an active member of a program for voters that may experience difficulty in going to their respective polling places.

The close of voter registration for the April 04, 2017, Consolidated General Election, is Tuesday, March 07, 2017. Registration re-opens on Thursday, April 6, 2017.

All eligible registered voters, including those who are physically unable to get to their polling place, are entitled to vote early or cast a Vote by Mail ballot.  Vote by Mail will begin March 10, 2017, and continue through March 30, 2017.  Early voting will be available at the office of the Election Commission starting March 10, 2017 through April 3, 2017, and at the County’s Early Voting sites, starting March 20, 2017, through Monday, April 3, 2017.  

If an individual is not registered or their registration is not up-to-date after the traditional registration has closed, "Grace Period" Registration and Voting will be available at the Election Commission Office and Permanent Early Voting locations beginning March 08, 2017 through April 3, 2017 and at their designated polling place on Election Day.   

A voter may request assistance with marking their ballot.  At the polling place on Election Day assistance may be given by Judges of Election (one from each political party), a friend or a relative.  Assistance with marking the ballot will also be available at Early Voting and Grace Period Voting sites. 

For additional information, contact the Election Commission office, 421 North County Farm Road, Wheaton, Illinois, 60187 at (630) 407-5600, the TDD number at (630) 407-5631, or visit the Voting section of the Election Commission website at