Tax Sale Information
WHAT WILL HAPPEN IF I DON'T PAY MY PROPERTY TAXES? (PDF)
Before the Actual Tax Sale
- November 2, 2020 - An additional cost of $10.00 will be charged to cover the delinquent tax publication and certified mailing expenses.
- November 18, 2020 - Any payment of the 2019 real estate tax bill after this date must be made by cashier's check, cash or money order.
- December 23, 2020 - If either installment of the current year's real estate tax amount is still delinquent as of this date, the owner's name, parcel number and tax amount due will be listed in the delinquent tax publication.
- January 20, 2021 - The total amount due must be received in the Treasurer's office by this date no later than 4:30 pm.
When registering please include your completed W9 form and Registration form along with $500.00.
If your Property Taxes are Sold at the Annual Tax Sale Held on January 21/22, 2021.
PLEASE CONTACT THE DU PAGE COUNTY CLERK AT 630-407-5500 for an "Estimate of Redemption". The property owner has a 2 to 2½ year redemption period in which to fully pay back the amount of their sold taxes, depending on property classification. The DuPage
County Clerk can verify the interest rate on your sold parcel along with the total amount due. (As a note, the average successful interest rate bid at the Tax Sale held in November 2019 was 2% per each 6 month redemption period for the majority of
Information about the Annual Tax Sale
Due to COVID-19, the tax sale date has been changed to January 21, 2021.
The Tax Sale will be held on January 21, 2021 (and 22nd, if necessary), in the auditorium at 421 North County Farm Road, Wheaton, Illinois 60187.
A list of delinquent parcels will be published in local newspapers in January. An electronically transmitted Tax Sale list of the delinquent parcels will be available for purchase by registered tax buyers at a cost of $250. Information contained on the
Tax Sale list includes the permanent parcel number, the assessee name, the delinquent tax amount and the state equalized value. Purchase of the list is not a requirement for attending the Tax Sale. The Tax Sale list provided to the tax buyers is for
the sole purpose of the delinquent property Tax Sale. Use of this information for any other purpose is strictly prohibited. The County Treasurer reserves the right to deny sale of the list to any tax buyer.
A tax buyer must attend the Tax Sale in order to bid. Payment of purchases (delinquent taxes + interest + costs of $104.00 per parcel) must be made by cash or cashier's check the day after the Tax Sale held on January 21, 2021. The legal requirements
to purchase at the Tax Sale and procedures that must be followed to obtain a tax deed are outlined in the Illinois Compiled Statutes Chapter 35, Act 200, Article 21, available at public libraries or on the internet at www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs.asp.
Knowledge regarding procedures and statutory requirements is the tax buyer's responsibility.
The bid represents the rate of interest that would be earned by the tax buyer on the purchase amount during each six months of the redemption period, if the owner redeems the sale. By law, the maximum interest rate bid is 18%. The sale is to the tax buyer
who bids the lowest percentage of interest. In the last several years, the average successful bids ranged from 0% to 4%.
After the Tax Sale, the tax buyer is issued a certificate of purchase, which represents a lien on the property. The property owner has a 2 to 2½ year redemption period, depending on property classification. If the tax lien is not redeemed by the owner,
the tax buyer must petition the circuit court for a tax deed after first fulfilling all of the legal requirements. The tax buyer may also pay all unpaid taxes for the next two subsequent years at a specified time and record the payments against the
Sale. See Subsequent Tax Payment Information.
In cases where there are no bidders on a parcel, the County, as Trustee for all taxing bodies, becomes the tax buyer at 18%. The County's certificates are available for purchase by tax buyers in the amount that the County paid, along with the 18%. A list
of available parcels is available from the Treasurer's office. Please direct inquiries concerning purchasing County certificates to the DuPage County
Clerk. There are no forfeitures (unsold parcels) available
after the Sale for over-the-counter purchases.