The County of DuPage
Wheaton, Illinois
 

Obtaining a Marriage License

When to Apply:

A marriage license is issued immediately and becomes effective 24 hours later.  The license is valid for 60 days.  A license issued in DuPage County CANNOT be used in any other County or State.

How to Apply:

Both parties MUST appear at the DuPage County Clerk’s office, 421 N. County Farm Road, Wheaton, IL 60187 and present proof of age and proper identification and a license fee of $35.00.

The fee of $35.00 can be paid in cash, check or by credit card for a $1.00 fee.

Required Identification:

Identification and proof of age are required of all persons. Any of the following documents will be accepted:

  • A valid U.S. driver’s license.
  • A valid U.S. state identification card.
  • A valid U.S. passport.
  • A valid U.S. military identification card.

If you do not have any of the above forms of identification, then you must present two (2) of the following pieces of identification:

  • A certified copy of a birth certificate.
  • A baptismal record (the date of birth of the applicant must appear on this record).
  • A valid foreign passport.
  • U.S. naturalization papers.
  • A valid U.S. resident alien card.
  • A life insurance policy, which has been in effect for one (1) year (the applicant’s date of birth must appear on the document).
  • All consulate identification cards. Affidavits are not acceptable.

Qualifications (Persons Who May Marry)

Persons older than 18 years of age who are not blood relatives may marry without parental consent.

First cousins older than the age of 50 years of age may marry.

Applicants 18 years of age may obtain a marriage license by presenting a certified copy of their birth certificate.

Applicants between the ages of 16 & 17 may obtain a marriage license by presenting the following information:

  • Sworn consent from each parent, each legal guardian or a judge – IN PERSON –before the County Clerk at the time of application. Those giving consent must provide proper identification, including: valid driver’s license; valid state identification card; valid passport. (If the legal guardian is giving consent, a certified copy of the guardianship papers must be provided).
  • A certified copy of their birth certificate.
  • A second piece of identification showing date of birth.

Previous Marriages:

We must know how a previous marriage or civil union ended, including the month, date and year, county and state in which it ended. If a prior marriage or civil union has ended within the last six (6) months, you must provide a certified copy (a photocopy is not sufficient) of the death record, dissolution or annulment decree.

How to convert a DuPage County Civil Union to a Marriage License:

Effective June 1, 2014, same-sex marriages become legal in the State of Illinois and couples who wish to convert their Civil Union to a Marriage License have two options per Public Act 98-0597: 

  1. When a couple in a civil union opts for a solemnized marriage ceremony, they will apply at the County Clerk's office and have a marriage ceremony within 60 days of application.  The marriage license will be filed with the County Clerk and the date of marriage will be recorded.  The $35 marriage license fee will be waived.
  2. When a couple in a civil union chooses to convert their civil union to a marriage without a new solemnization ceremony, they will apply at the County Clerk's office to convert their civil union.  The marriage will be effective from the date of their original civil union.  The couple will sign the marriage license, without needing a ceremony.  The $35 marriage license fee will be waived from June 1, 2014 through May 31, 2015.